Members Area

AASP Fellows

A Fellow is an AASP member who has achieved distinction through significant contributions to academic and professional practice knowledge in sport and exercise psychology.

AASP Fellows are conferred by the Fellow Review Committee who affirms that a member has achieved the following criteria.

Criteria to Become a Fellow

Deadline: March 1 each year

  • Demonstrated high standards of professional development by committing directly to the goals and long-range activities of the Association as evidenced by activities such as presentations at Association conferences, membership on Association committees, and contributions to Association publications. 
  • A doctorate from an accredited institution in a field related to sport psychology.
  • Been a member of the Association for at least three consecutive years.
  • Made significant contributions to academic and professional practice knowledge in sport and exercise psychology as evidenced by a distinguished record of academic publications, applied publications, the development of outstanding educational materials and programs, and/or via major contributions to sport organizations (e.g. design, implement and sustain over times a sport psychology program in a National Sport Governing Body, influence sport policy at the nation or international level).
  • Received approval by the Fellow Review Committee.

(Constitution Article IV Section 3)

Fellow Application Guidelines

Active, Inactive, and Emeritus Fellow Status

As stated in the Constitution, only active fellows and fellow emeriti can vote on issues relating to certification standards, ethical principles, and professional standards.

Active fellow status requires current AASP membership and attendance at an AASP conference within the last three years. Failure to meet these criteria will result in inactive fellow status.

Fellow Emeritus: Persons who have been an active fellow of AASP within five years of their retirement can apply to become a Fellow Emeritus of the organization.  Please contact the current Fellow Review Committee Chair for additional details. 

Active Fellows

Renee Appaneal (2021)

Mark Aoyagi (2016)

Amy Baltzell (2017)

Monna Arvinen-Barrow (2020)

Heather Barber (2005) 

Bonnie Berger (1987)

Lindsey Blom (2019) 

Gordon Bloom (2021)

Britton Brewer (2004) 

Charlie Brown (2010)

Damon Burton (2003)

Leeja Carter (2021)

Sarah Castillo (2016)  

Melissa Chase (2009)

Becky Clark (2018)

Damien Clement (2020)

Karen Cogan (2004)

Alex Cohen (2018)   

Steven Danish (1991)

Kristen Dieffenbach (2016)

Joan Duda (1988) 

Natalie Durand-Bush (2018)

Vicki Ebbeck (2004) 

Ed Etzel (2007)

Marty Ewing (2010)

Leslee Fisher (2011)

David Fletcher (2014)

Francis Flint (2009)

Mary Fry (2009)

Nick Galli (2021)

Lori Gano-Overway (2019)

Burt Giges (2006)

Joy Griffin (2002)

Diane Gill (1987)

Todd Gilson (2019)

Scott Goldman (2016)

Daniel Gould (1987) 

Kensa Gunter (2020)

Doug Hankes (2015)

Stephanie Hanrahan (2010)

Bob Harmison (2015)

Chris Harwood (2007)

John Heil (1998)

Tim Herzog (2020)

Ken Hodge (2012)

Jasmin Hutchinson (2017)

Cindra Kamphoff (2021)

Michele Kerulis (2021)

Bruce Klonsky (2021)

Anthony Kontos (2017)

Bart Lerner (2016)

Jack Lesyk (2011)

Charlie Maher (2017)

Jeff Martin (2004) 

Scott Martin (2004) 

Ian Maynard (2007)

Sean McCann (2009)

Penny McCullagh (1992)

Rick McGuire (2010)

Jon Metzler (2013)

Taryn Morgan (2021)

Angus Mugford (2016)

Elizabeth Mullin (2018)

Maria Newton (2012)

Ed O'Connor (2010)

Carole Oglesby (1987) 

Margaret Ottley (2018)

Al Petitpas (1993)

Kirsten Peterson (2013)

Linda Petlichkoff (1995)

Trent Petrie (2000)

Artur Poczwardowski (2015)

Alison Pope-Rhodius (2018)

Alessandro Quartiroli (2021)

Glyn Roberts (1987)

Michael Sachs (1987)

Tara Scanlan (1987)

Rob Schinke (2014)

Jamie Shapiro (2021)

Elizabeth Shoenfelt (2016)

Wesley Sime (1987)

Duncan Simpson (2021)

Robert Smith (1995)

Natalia Stambulova (2014)

Traci Statler (2015)

Joan Steidinger (2021)

Jim Taylor (2004)

Gershon Tennenbaum (2006)

Melissa Thompson (2018)

Judy Van Raalte (2002)

Tiffanye Vargas (2019)

Robin Vealey (1989)

Ralph Vernacchia (2001)

Amanda Visek (2020)

Brent Walker (2015)

Jack Watson (2012)

Robert Weinberg (1987)

Diane Whaley (2013)

Diane Wiese-Bjornstal (2002)

Jean Williams (1987)

David Yukelson (1987)

Leonard Zaichkowsky (1988)

Michael Zito (2020)

Sam Zizzi (2012)

(year inducted as Fellow)

Updated April 2021