Members Area

Undergraduate Programs in Sport, Exercise, and Performance Psychology

With the rise in publicity and popularity of sport, exercise, and performance psychology (SEPP), a number of institutions have created academic majors and minors in their undergraduate programs. In general, one can define an academic “major” as a program of in-depth study leading directly to a baccalaureate degree and an academic “minor” as a secondary field of study or specialization. An academic minor requires fewer courses and does not, in and of itself, lead to a bachelor’s degree. Some programs also offer concentrations or certificates in SEPP, which embed the specialized SEPP courses within a major’s curriculum (concentration) or provide opportunities for aligned coursework that does not result in the acquisition of a formal degree (certificate). Given the unique demands and opportunities in the field, especially applied work in performance enhancement and CMPC® certification*, students may be best served to major in Psychology or Kinesiology and minor in Sport, Exercise, and/or Performance Psychology, or vice versa depending on your chosen university’s academic programs. Students should conduct careful research on programs of interest to determine which one best meets their needs.

*Please note a Master's or Doctoral degree would be required to apply for CMPC® certification, although several Standard Practitioner coursework requirements can be met with upper division undergraduate courses.

The institutions below have established majors, minors, concentrations, or certificates in Sport, Exercise, and Performance Psychology:


Adams State College

Alamosa, CO

Major Website

Minor Website

Degree:
BA

Both degrees (major and minor) are in Sport Psychology.

Department:
Dept. of Psychology in collaboration with the Dept. of Kinesiology

Contact Info:
Dr. Brian Zuleger
brianzuleger@adams.edu


Barry University

Miami Shores, FL

Major Website

Minor Website

Degree:
BS

Degree is in Applied Sport and Exercise Sciences with a concentration in Sport, Exercise and Performance Psychology. A minor in Sport, Exercise, and Performance Psychology is also available to Psychology majors.

Department:
Dept. of Exercise and Sport Science

Contact Info:
Dr. Kimberly Shaffer
Kshaffer@barry.edu


California Baptist University

Riverside, CA

Major Website (Behavioral Science)

Major Website (Psychology)

Degree:
BA

Department:
College of Behavioral and Social Sciences
Degrees are in Behavioral Science or Psychology with a concentration in Sport Psychology available for both.

Contact Info:
Dr. Ed Garrett
egarrett@calbaptist.edu


California State University, Long Beach

Long Beach, CA

Major Website

Degree:
BS
Degree is in Kinesiology with an option in Sport Psychology and Leadership.

Department:
Dept. of Kinesiology

Contact Info:
Dr. Leilani Madrigal
Leilani.madrigal@csulb.edu

Dr. Jana Fogaca
Jana.Fogaca@csulb.edu

Dr. Alison Ede
Alison.ede@csulb.edu


Cornell College

Mount Vernon, IA

Major/Concentration Website

Degree:
BA
Degree is in Kinesiology with a concentration in Exercise Science and emphasis in Sport, Exercise, and Performance Psychology. Many students who are interested in sport/exercise/performance psychology choose to double major in Kinesiology and Psychology.

Department:
Dept. of Kinesiology

Contact Info:
Dr. Christi Johnson
cjohnson@cornellcollege.edu 


Ithaca College

Ithaca, NY

Minor Website

Degree:
Minor in Sport and Exercise Psychology

Department:
Dept. of Exercise & Sport Sciences

Contact Info:
Dr. Greg Shelley
gshelley@ithaca.edu

Dr, Justine Vosloo
jvosloo@ithaca.edu


Keene State College

Keene, NH

Minor Website

Degree:
Minor in Sport and Exercise Psychology

Department:
Dept. of Human Performance and Movement Science

Contact Info:
Dr. Melanie Adams
madams4@keene.edu


Lewis-Clark State College

Lewiston, ID

Certificate Website

Certificate:
Certificate in Movement Psychology is offered to students, sport coaches, and health and fitness professionals.

Department:
Dept. of Physical, Life, Movement, and Sport Sciences

Contact Info:
Dr. Susan Steele
scsteele@lcsc.edu


Lock Haven University

Lock Haven, PA

Minor Website

Degree:
Degree is a minor in Sport and Exercise Psychology.

Department:
Dept. of Health and Exercise Sciences

Contact Info:
Dr. Patricia Lally
plally@lockhaven.edu


Mount Mercy University

Cedar Rapids, IA

Minor Website

Degree:
Degree is a minor in Sport, Health, and Exercise Psychology.

Department:
Dept. of Psychology

Contact Info:
Dr. Matthew Bejar
mbejar@mtmercy.edu


National University

San Diego, CA

Major Website

Degree:
BA
Onsite and online courses pre-reviewed to meet AASP Certification requirements.

Department:
Dept. of Psychology

Contact Info:
Dr. Douglas Barba
dbarba@nu.edu


Norwegian School of Sport Sciences

Oslo, Norway

Major Website

Degree:
BS
Degree is a major in Coaching and Sport Psychology.

Department:
Dept. of Sport and Social Sciences

Contact Info:
Professor Anne Marte Pensgaard
annemp@nih.no


Pacific Lutheran University

Tacoma, WA

Minor Website

Degree:
Degree is a Minor in Exercise and Sport Psychology.

Department:
Dept. of Kinesiology

Contact Info:
Dr. Mallory Mann
mannmf@plu.edu 


Robert Morris University

Pittsburgh, PA

Major Website

Degree:
BS
Degree is in Psychology with a concentration in Sport Psychology.

Department:
Dept. of Psychology and Health Sciences

Contact Info:
Dr. Samantha Monda
monda@rmu.edu


Rowan University

Glassboro, NJ

Minor Website

Certificate Website

Degree:
Minor is available in Psychology of Sport and Exercise. Also available is a Psychology of Sport and Exercise Certificate of Undergraduate Study.

Department:
Dept. of Health and Exercise Science

Contact Info:
Dr. JoAnne Bullard
bullardj@rowan.edu 


Texas A&M University - Kingsville

Kingsville, TX

Major Website

Minor Website

Degree:
BS
Degree is in Kinesiology with a concentration in Exercise Science/Performance Psychology. Minors are available in Performance Psychology and Coaching.

Department:
Dept. of Health and Kinesiology

Contact Info:
Dr. Amber M. Shipherd 
amber.shipherd@tamuk.edu


Texas State University

San Marcos, TX

Minor Website

Minor is available in Sport Psychology

Department:
Dept. of Psychology

Contact Info:
​​​​​​​psychology@txstate.edu


West Virginia University

Morgantown, WV

Major Website

Minor Website

Degree:
BS
Both degrees (major and minor) are in Sport and Exercise Psychology.

Department:
College of Physical Activity & Sport Sciences

Contact Info:
Dr. Scott Barnicle 
scott.barnicle@mail.wvu.edu


Western Kentucky University

Bowling Green, KY

Major Website

Degree:
BA
Degree is in Psychology with a concentration in Sport Psychology.

Department:
Dept. of Psychology

Contact Info:
Dr. Steve Wininger
steven.wininger@wku.edu


University of West Florida

Pensacola, FL

Minor Website

Degree:
Minor in Sport and Exercise Psychology

Department:
Dept. of Psychology

Contact Info:
​​​​​​​psych@uwf.edu 


Western Washington University

Bellingham, WA

Major Website

Minor Website

Degree:
BS
Degree is in Kinesiology with a specialization in Sport Psychology. A minor in Sport Psychology is also available

Department:
Dept. of Health & Human Development

Contact Info:
Dr. Linda Keeler
Linda.Keeler@wwu.edu

Dr. Jessyca Arthur-Cameselle
Jessyca.arthur-cameselle@wwu.edu