members
member area

Global Diversity in the World of Sport and Performance: The Link Between Culture and Mental Health

Presented in Collaboration with the British Association
of Sport and Exercise Sciences (BASES)

Wednesday, June 30, 2021

9:00 am - 10:15 am Eastern Daylight Time
1:00 pm - 2:15 pm GMT
2:00 pm - 3:15 pm British Summer Time
9:00 pm - 10:15 pm Hong Kong Standard Time

REGISTER NOW

Speakers
Kotryna Fraser, PhD, The University of Newcastle, Australia
Paul Gorczynski, PhD, University of Portsmouth, UK
Karen Lo, M.Ed., Inner Edge Limited, Hong Kong
Margaret Ottley, PhD, West Chester University, USA

Overview
The intersection of sport sciences, sport & performance psychology and mental health has increasingly been an area of focus in the ongoing efforts to support and promote the health and well-being of athletes and performers. Additionally, understanding the importance of both individual and systemic cultural factors, and how these shape beliefs and experiences is also an area that consultants in sport sciences need to be aware of in their professional work. The purpose of this webinar is to explore the connection between mental health, diversity and sport sciences, including sport psychology, from a global perspective. Participants will hear from a panel of experts as they discuss these topics and share thoughts about engaging in culturally responsive, sport science practice. 

Format
Moderated (panel) discussion. To encourage participation, attendees can submit questions before the event by sending them to info@appliedsportpsych.org. Efforts will be made to incorporate these into the discussion and there will be an opportunity for live questions as well.

CE Credit
No CE Credit will be offered for this session.

Registration
Register now. There is no fee to attend.

Session Recording
The webinar will be recorded and made available on the AASP website in early July.